Bostoner’s Protest Olympic Bid

http://time.com/money/3917161/boston-olympics-host-2024/

I have watched the Olympics for as long as I can remember. I have memories of sitting in the living room and begging my mom to let me stay up in the summer to watch the next swim race or watch the gymnastics which were my two favorite summer Olympic events. One of my life goals is to attend the Olympics someday whether it be by working as part of their massive PR team or as a fan. I can only imagine how I would feel if my home city ever got the chance to host the Olympics! I would be so excited and would do everything I could to help the city prepare.

This is why it was odd to me that Boston citizens and business protested the Olympic bid. There was an organization created in Boston called the, “No Boston Olympics” group who protested on the streets and sent several letters to state leaders protesting the idea of hosting the Olympics in 2024. This group took to social media with the hashtag #NotinBoston and #NoBostonOlympics which made them trend and gave them national attention.

In this article that Time magazine posted, they explained that one of the reasons could be is that the economy does not benefit as much as many people think and cities often spend more money than expected while getting the facilities and surrounding areas ready to host the games.

With all of this in mind, it makes more sense why many people protested hosting the games. Because of their efforts, Boston was dropped as an Olympic city bid.

Leave a Reply

